

Our organization's way to provide you the most current information regarding all things related to MN Property Tax Assessment Administration.

Message from MAAO President, Michelle Moen

I am excited for the opportunity to work with our MAAO organization this year as your President. We are fortunate to have so many members that contribute to our association. I welcome any member that has an interest in working with a committee, instructing or just wanting the opportunity to be involved to reach out to either the Executive Board members or other committee members. There is always room for forward thinking individuals in our profession.

Education is extremely important to MAAO. It is important for us to continue to provide quality education to our members. I encourage you to share your ideas or suggestions for educational opportunities. The Conference Content committee continues to seek ideas each year for our conferences and short courses.

We have a few new Committee Chairs this year and we welcomed some of them to our recent Organizational meeting. They have an enthusiasm to be involved and look forward to being a part of MAAO alongside their committees.

Looking into the New Year, there are some changes we are excited to be a part of. MAAO is teaming up with the Appraisal Institute with Appraisal Principles and Appraisal Procedures courses. This will be a new opportunity this year and I look forward to this transition.

Our Legislative Committee will be working with a new Liaison, Matt Hilgart (AMC), as we move into the new Legislative session. Matt was able to attend our meeting in November to give us an opportunity to meet him. To prepare for the Legislative session, the Legislative committee members will attend a "day at the Capital" event to allow an opportunity to have some members be part of a testifying training.

If you have any concerns, questions or comments, please reach out to me or any other Executive Board member.

Michelle Moen, Isanti County Assessor, MAAO President



Updates from the State Board of Assessors

Opening on the Board for a Public Member Position

The board is currently accepting applications for the Public Member Position through the <u>Secretary of State</u> website.

The preferred background for this position is in the real estate field. If you know of someone who may be interested and has a real estate field background, tell them to apply before the end of **November**. Applicants can submit an application, resume, and cover letter through the <u>Secretary of State website</u> by selecting **Find Open Positions** and then searching for the Public Member position for the Board of Assessors. For questions with the application process, contact Bobbi Spencer at 651-556-6086 or <u>assessors.board@state.mn.us</u>.

Continuing Education Hours Increase

Once the State Board of Assessors rule changes are adopted, the continuing education hours requirement will increase. CMAs and CMASs will go from 40 to 50 hours and AMAs & SAMAs will go from 50 to 60 hours for the current 4-year cycle (7/1/2016 - 6/30/2020).

A Thor	SAMA	City of St. Cloud	Karen Skoog	CMA	Local Assessor in Becker County
Alexis D'Valle	CMA	Dakota County	Kathleen Elson	CMA	Roseau County
Angela DeBoer	CMA	Martin County	Kathy Howard	CMA	Roseau County
Ann Phillips	CMA	City of St. Cloud	Kerri Heim	CMA	Chippewa County
Brian Folden	AMA	Wadena County	Korina Woinarowicz	CMA	Marshall County
Candice Lahann	AMA	Mower County	Lucas Onstad	CMA	Houston County
Cassidy Callies	CMA	Hennepin County	Mark Fritz	CMA	Scott County
Chris Baumberger	CMA	Murray County	Matthew Ammerman	CMA	Dakota County
Chris Rengstorf	CMA	Stevens County	Melissa Weston	CMA	Nicollet County
Craig Walquist	AMA	City of Minneapolis	Michael Wirth	CMA	Swift County
David Sitek	CMA	Ramsey County	Michelle Quinn	CMA	Houston County
Dawn Swisher	AMA	Otter Tail County	Mitchell King	СМА	Hennepin County
Emmanuel Adeniran	CMA	Ramsey County	Robert Hall	CMA	Crow Wing County
Erin Benoit	SAMA	City of Minneapolis	Ron Bushbaum	СМА	St. Louis County
Heather Bruley	AMA	Polk County	Samantha Kral	СМА	Sibley County
Jacob Fronden	CMA	City of Brooklyn Park	Scott Hemmesch	CMA	Stearns County
Jeffrey Sehr	AMA	Rock County	Scott Soderman	CMA	Isanti County
Joe Wulfing	CMA	City of Brooklyn Park	Scott deLambert	SAMA	Hennepin County
Joey Sullivan	СМА	Wabasha County	Stephanie Gordon	CMA	Freeborn County
Jonathan Packer	CMA	Ramsey County	Theodore Anderson	CMA	Anoka County

Congratulations on your new license level!!

Know any aspiring assessors? Tell them to apply for the Dan Franklin Scholarship!

MAAO established the Dan Franklin Collegiate Scholarship in 1998 in memory of Dan Franklin. Dan was always a promoter of assessor education and served diligently on the MAAO Educational Committee.

The scholarship is \$1,000 toward any major and is awarded in January. See eligibility information here

The application deadline is December 1! So let those aspiring assessors know they need to act fast to apply!

Pace 2

Round 2 of PACE will be offered in the summer of 2019. Revenue will announce those details in the spring of 2019. Remember, you must complete PACE 2 to receive full credit for the PACE requirement! Be sure to plan ahead and register right away! Any questions about PACE 2 can be sent to Jessi Glancey.





Got Ethics?

2019 is the last year of the current licensure cycle, therefore if you haven't taken Ethics yet you must register for an offering in 2019. The Ethics courses will be announced by MAAO in the spring of 2019. Be sure to watch for that announcement and register ASAP. There will be 5 independent offerings and two offerings at Fall Conference.

MAAO Updates:

- Look for an email around December 1 with 2019 Membership and Renewal information.
- MAAO's Harassment Policy has been added to the <u>website</u>.

We hope you enjoy reading the MAAO Newsletter. If you have ideas for content contact us: *amy.rausch@state.mn.us or holly.soderbeck@state.mn.us*

